Triumph Tiger 800XRX after 11,000 miles plus

At over 11,000 miles I am still riding on the original tires, and they still have miles left. However, not all components did that well. From the start I had noticed some clunking up front when braking. The dealer said nothing was wrong. Around 9,000 miles after a ride to Big Bear, the clunking was becoming more pronounced so I put the bike up on the centerstand. I was going to get out my Mitutoyo dial indicator, but as I rotated the front wheel, I could see the left brake caliper deflecting. No need for a dial indicator after all. I had a severely warped front brake rotor. 

This wasn’t my first experience with a warped rotor. I had gone through the same thing with my Suzuki GSX-650F, but in that case I did need a dial indicator to measure the deflection. As with the Suzuki, I decided to replace the stock rotors with EBC rotors. No point installing genuine Triumph rotors whose quality I question. After I ordered new rotors and made arrangements to have them installed (I am too decrepit these days to install them myself, as I did with the Suzuki) I noticed that the rear brake rotor pads were totally gone and digging into the metal. So, I had to order an EBC rear rotor, too. My bad for not noticing, but I wasn’t expecting the pads to go out so quickly. I checked the forums and my experience wasn’t unusual.

After about $900 for new rotors, pads, and labor, finally got it all straightened out. At least the EBC rotors look pretty sharp, and the braking is smooth now. 

On the same ride I also noticed the engine was a little rough. Previously I hadn’t been riding much so I was changing the oil based on time instead of miles. Now, exploring the Covid world, I was putting on more miles than ever before. I checked the oil and it was way down. After filling the oil and more riding and filling, I estimated the bike was burning a quart every 3,000 miles. My BMW R90/6 used to burn oil, but not as much as this. Never had a Suzuki, Honda, or Yamaha burn oil. There is no touring in my future, so I’ll just pretend that I have a total loss oiling system, like a 2-stroke. I guess the bike wanted to prove that it’s a Triumph. No leaks from the cases and no noticeable smoke out the exhaust.

On the plus side, the cruise control works well, which can be vital with my arthritic hands. The seat does get a little warm from the engine as some have complained, but nothing like my Yamaha FZ-8. You can still sit on the Triumph saddle during the Los Angeles summer. Nothing else has broken on its own. Dropping the bike took out a turn signal and lever.

The best thing I’ve added to the bike is a Scott Oiler. Wish I’d had one of these on my long trips to Alaska and Newfoundland. It’s like having a shaft drive bike again. It sometimes drips a little, which I like since it lets me know the chain is getting wet. I had to fabricate (hacksaw and file) an adapter for my swingarm and it seems to be holding up. The vendor who sold me the system doesn’t seem to sell the lubricant refill anymore, but I’ve read that you can use chainsaw bar oil as a substitute. 

Second best addition are Doubletake mirrors. These are pricey, but can be adjusted easily and stay in position. They do flex enough to survive drops, as I have proved. 

My Mosko Nomax tankbag was perhaps a little too complex, but I don’t have to worry about it anymore since someone stole it in spite of it being locked down. They just cut it free. I replaced it with a genuine Triumph tankbag. It seemed kind of clumsy at first but you get used to it. It was missing a mounting strap, but I rigged up my own mounting system, using part of the Mosko mounting system that was left behind. 

So the bike is good enough for riding around town, but I’d wonder about taking it on a long trip. The warped rotor was a major quality issue that the dealer didn’t want to deal with. The oil consumption is very annoying and potentially bad for the engine if you don’t keep an eye on it. Since I’m at the end of my riding career, I’ll just put up with the problems unless something else big pops up. The bike does handle and ride well. Looking forward to that Honda Super Cub in a few years. 

Leave a comment